The Brookside School opened in 1956 as a pre-school offering half-day programs to three-, four-, and five-year-olds. Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Howell were the founders and operated the school until 1969. Mr. & Mrs. William Kayal took over after the Howells adding full-day programs and a summer camp for children age 3-12. In the 1970s the elementary grades were added one per year, along with several additions to the building. The first 8th grade class graduated in 1984. As the families' need for quality childcare increased, Brookside also added pre-nursery programs for infants and toddlers, beginning classes in 1990. The Kayals continued to operate the school until 2001. The current owners, siblings Lynn Davila and John Quakenbush, both former students and long-time employees of Brookside, now oversee operations.
The tradition of excellence in education and catering to the individual needs of each child continue today as we look to keep improving the program at Brookside. We believe that a firm foundation built in pre-school and elementary school is essential for all future endeavors.
The Brookside School is located on a five-acre campus including a 15,000-square-foot building, several outdoor play areas, athletic fields, farm animals, three swimming pools, and a multi-purpose sport court. The main building has been expanded and renovated over the years to provide a welcoming environment to our students. Our unique mix of indoor and outdoor learning environments stimulate the learning process and offer variety into the student's day.
Aerial View of the Campus taken Summer 2005
The materials posted on this website are for personal, non-commercial use only and may be downloaded only for personal use. Republication, retransmission or reproduction of any images is strictly prohibited.